Press Releases

    For information only - not an official document

    UNIS/MA006
    Vienna, 14 March 2013

    Media Advisory


    Re-issued as received

    Live Webcast of the Official Global Launch of the 2013 Human Development Report in Mexico City

    2013 Human Development Report

    The Rise of the South: Human Progress in a Diverse World

    Global launch: Thursday, 14 March 2013

    The 2013 Human Development Report - "The Rise of the South: Human Progress in a Diverse World" - will be launched on 14 March in Mexico City by President Enrique Peña Nieto of Mexico and UNDP Administrator Helen Clark.

    The 2013 Human Development Report examines the profound shift in global dynamics driven by the fast-rising new powers of the developing world and its long-term implications for human development (more information at: hdr.undp.org).

    The global launch in Mexico City will consist of two main events: an official ceremony and a press conference, both to take place on 14 March 2013:

    11:30 hrs (Mexico City Time, 18:30 CET, 13:30 hrs. New York City).

    • Launch Ceremony at the Official Presidential Residence of Los Pinos, with President of Mexico Enrique Peña Nieto, UNDP Administrator Helen Clark, Khalid Malik, Director and lead author of the Human Development Report, and national officials.

    13:00 hrs (Mexico City Time, 20:00 CET, 15:00 hrs. New York City).

    • Press conference to launch the Report, with the participation of Helen Clark, UNDP Administrator, Khalid Malik, Director and lead author of Human Development Report, Heraldo Muñoz, Director of the UNDP Regional Bureau for Latin America and the Caribbean, Rodolfo de la Torre, Coordinator of the UNDP Research on Human Development Office in Mexico.

    Both activities will be webcast live. The press conference will have simultaneous

    webcasts in English and Spanish and will be interactive, allowing journalists participating

    from remote locations to pose questions to the experts via a live text forum (chat).

    To follow the webcast, the journalists may log into:

    http://www.cinu.mx/webcast  For Spanish

    http://www.cinu.mx/webcast-2  For English

    * *** *

    For more information write to:
    mmedios@un.org